A Life

A weekly podcast about asexuality

A Life #39: Asexual Art

Download (MP3)

If 1% of people are asexual then logically 1% of artists should be asexual as well, so why isn’t 1% of art asexual? That is the question on the table on this episode of A Life as well as a recap of some of the more popular fictional characters who may or may not be asexual.

Links:
Gay Geekery: Holmes & Asexuality
Asexual Blues
Half Death
Girls With Slingshots
Kris Knight: The painter bringing erotic and asexual theme to 18th century French portraiture

Poll:
What form of art is inherently the most asexual in nature?

November 23, 2010 - Posted by | Podcast

8 Comments »

  1. Girl brothers?
    Faggot faeries?
    ‘LICK MY HORSE!?’

    Best, most bizzare build up, ever.

    Comment by redtail | November 24, 2010

  2. Hi. So you know how I promised to try to keep my comments short? Well, you talked about Sherlock so it’s all your fault anyway.

    Because basically I have no answer to which art is in nature most asexual, but the form in which asexuality is in my opinion best shown? Fanfiction. Yes, I know, not exactly a type of art, but still. Fandom is full of sexuality, psychosis and kinks. But what’s important to us is that in fanfiction sexuality is often explored beyond the usual, heteronormative way of thinking. (So is gender, psychology and many other things.) And yes, it leads to texts about kinks and sexual deviations, but also to truly well thought and beautifully written fics exploring different sexualities, including asexuality. I recently read quite a few great stories about asexuals (both aromantic and romantic) to few very different fandoms (including Sherlock, Inception and Harry Potter).
    (I strongly suggest checking out asexual_fandom (http://asexual-fandom.dreamwidth.org/) and also asexy_sherlock (http://community.livejournal.com/asexy_sherlock/) to anyone interested.)

    Now, as a great Sherlock fan, let me tell you what I think about him. (And about what you said about him.:D)

    1) You are absolutely right to consider different adaptations of Sherlock Holmes, because obviously he was shown differently in them and he sure is not an ace in them all. However I will protect the opinion that in canon he’s an aromantic asexual. Yes, there’s Irene Adler and yes, there is John Watson, but… no. Irene is only interesting to him, because she outsmarted him. She appreciates her intellect and sneakiness. And that’s all. Despite highly romantic adaptations and/or opinions, it is possible to be impressed with someone and not attracted to them. The closest bond Sherlock has is with Watson and they’re friends. Very close friends, but I would rather consider it in the light of a post on some asexual community, when the poster stated that she seems to be closer to her friends than people usually are. And some other aces admitted for that to be the case in their situations as well.

    The movie version from 2010 on the other hand? I wouldn’t call this Sherlock asexual. *shrugs* It’s just a different way of writing the character and portraying him.

    The BBC version on the other hand brings asexy back. And I would love to talk a lot about it, but there was a beautifully well composed post on asexual_fandom about it and I would just end up quoting it anyway, so I will shut up about Sherlock’s asexuality and add a link if anyone is interested. (http://asexual-fandom.dreamwidth.org/11508.html)

    2) Sociopath. Yes, okay. It does sound bad. And it would suck if people started associating asexuality with sociopathy, but there few small details that suggest that at least creators were not suggesting a link like that. A) I don’t know were (if at all) it was officially stated, but the common fandom knowledge is that Sherlock is self-diagnosed sociopath, so he can be wrong B) The creators suggested that in later episodes Sherlock will be learning how to be a hero and the good man Lestrade hoped he would become. Which may suggest (though not definitely) that his self-diagnosis will really fall. As it’s said in the last episode, both Sherlock and Moriarty know it’s not true that Sherlock doesn’t have a heart.

    3) Okay, call me crazy, but is it just me who wonders what’s with Moffat and Gatiss and their shows being examples for asexuality in art? I mean first Doctor Who, now Sherlock… I just found it awesome 😀

    And now I will shut up, trying not to be embarrassed not only because I talk like a geek, I’m also enough of a geek to not be able to talk without providing the links to back my arguments up. Yay me. ;D

    Comment by Andrea_Deer | November 24, 2010

  3. Girls with slingshots was too sexual for me to read. Some funny parts though, but which character exactly was kinda asexual? I couldn’t really tell…

    Comment by BelgianBelle | November 24, 2010

  4. Just because a piece of art is not explicitly sexual does not mean it is ‘asexual’
    A painting of a bowl of fruit is not an ‘asexual painting’ due to it’s lack of sex anymore than it is an ‘atheist painting’ because it’s not explicitly religious.

    On a barely related note: Did you ever notice that in the vast majority of fiction the good guy is always in a relationship (or is by the end of the movie) but the bad guy is generally NOT in any kind of relationship. Especially with Disney.

    Comment by Lore | November 24, 2010

  5. Alferd Hitchcock didn’t write the Birds. He directed the movie based on the novella written by Daphne du Maurier. She also wrote Rebecca and Jamican Inn, both of which were also turned into films by Alferd Hitchcock.

    And now you know.

    Comment by Person | November 25, 2010

  6. I agree with what Lore said above, just because something isn’t about sex doesn’t mean it’s asexual. Also even if someones painted a picture of a naked person you can’t say ‘oh that’s sexual art’, it depends on the painting itself and your interpretation of it and the message the artist was trying to convey. For example a painting of a naked women may just be showing the human body while a bowl of bananas may be sexual depending on how they are arranged.

    Anyways I think this was one of the most boring episodes you’ve done so far.. I kept tuning out. I know you probably don’t have time to edit your podcasts down but alot of it could have been edited out. A few times your conversations went on little rants and things that it wasn’t needed.

    Now I don’t know if this is just me or not but it seems in the asexual community (especially in AVEN) alot of people like Sherlock homes, Dr Who, Anime etc and other such “nerd” interests. I donno if this is because I’m just not into this kind of stuff that it’s more obvious to me or because the asexual community is mainly an online one that the people in the forums are more ‘geeky’ I don’t know.

    My point is that everytime I see this or listen to podcast that talk about these things I know nothing about (or care about) I feel left out. Every time this happens it makes me feel like part of being asexual is to be interested in these shows and books and because I’m not, I don’t belong as much or something.

    Anyways I know next podcast you guys will be back to your game. take care

    Comment by TheJester | November 30, 2010

  7. I know that some of the fictional characters in Manga are asexual. One girl robotic character is either totally or half robotic and has no emotions. And I think that some of the other robots are probably asexy. Although, they are not real people even in the fantasy writing at times, they would be considered art.

    Comment by chez | December 3, 2010

  8. “If 1% of people are Asexual then logically 1% of artists should be Asexual as well, so why isn’t 1% of art Asexual”?

    That’s kinda assuming that everyone who is Asexual is an artist. However, I’m pretty sure that not all Asexuals are artists. If I had to guess, I’d say that 0.5% of Asexuals are artists.

    Comment by AceofClubs aka Rene Harrison | October 19, 2011


Leave a Reply

