A Life

A weekly podcast about asexuality

A Life #20: Final Episode

Download (MP3)

Yes, it’s true. Unfortunately production and real life issues mounted too much to keep the show going, so this will indeed be the last time the A Life Team gathers to talk about everything asexual. In the final show, we go over the remaining feedback, go over some random issues and explain our reasons for quitting the show.

We’d like to thank everyone who participated in the show by sending comments and contributing in any way. And naturally a special thanks goes out to everyone who listened to the show.

March 10, 2010 - Posted by | Podcast

6 Comments »

  1. I will miss your podcast. If you do ever find out about anyone else starting a similar podcast, please make a quick post about it here so the blog RSS subscription will tell me about it.

    Comment by Acenonymous | March 11, 2010

  2. Hey guys and gals. Thanks for doing this. Henrik said it right, and I agree with him. this is my really big check for you guys in the form of words for all your effort. It’s been a very pleasurable time with you Rebeca, Henrik, Alexa, and Reba.

    Good luck, stay strong, Reba<3

    PS. thanks for all the plugs to my blog. lol!

    Comment by asexybuddhist | March 15, 2010

  3. đŸ˜¦

    I only listened to about a quarter of the episodes. My asexuality is something I keep close to my chest, and I find it a pretty emotional topic. Enough to not want to actively partipate in AVEN, and enough to only end up only listening to 20-30 minutes a time. But I do like podcasts and listen to many; yours was excellent, and was perhaps more accessable to me than forums.

    Thanks for everything.

    Comment by Anonymous | March 16, 2010

  4. I have an idea as to why being non sex-positive is related to immaturity.

    I think the idea has its roots in the lgbtqiqwhatthefuckever culture, where people are battling for the right to do what they want (consensually) with whatever consensual partner they want.
    I feel like asexual people who make it a point to say that they’re sex-positive are trying to respect that ongoing struggle and simultaneously express that they are not against an individual’s right to sexual agency.

    Additionally, in the asexual community there’s a faction of people who express the sentiment that they’re grossed out whenever sexual conversation comes up in real life in their social groups. I think part of saying “I’m a sex-positive asexual” has to do with saying that they’re okay being included in conversations that might make those “grossed out” asexuals uncomfortable. In that sense, and I’m going to put this in a blunt and uncouth way, it’s kind of like saying, “Yeah, I’m asexual, but don’t worry! I’m a friendly asexual. You don’t need to worry.”

    Which isn’t to say that sex-positive equals placating the sexuals or attempting to be less of an “other”, but I think it’s SOMETIMES a part of that attitude. That said, I think my first explanation is probably a bit more typically found behind the sex-positive attitude/self-definition.

    Just my opinion.

    Comment by Kelly | June 26, 2010

  5. Though I do want to disagree about something…

    In the discussion about The L Word, Henrik compared recommending a person a television show to another person based on sexual orientation to, ‘smelling like fish, and thus needing to watch Finding Nemo’. (Which might not have been what actually happened, but that was what the comment was in response to.)

    It’s… not the same thing. I see validity in recommending a television program about a group of people who identify as an underrepresented sexual group to someone else who identifies as that underrepresented sexual group. But, then, I also don’t think that the show portrayed “artificial problems”… I think that it dealt with issues faced by lesbians that aren’t necessarily faced by heterosexual couples (or issues that aren’t faced by heterosexual couples in the same way). For instance, bisexuality within lesbian groups (which can be a real issue if the bisexual starts dating a guy), negotiating family issues that arise from being a member of a sexual orientation minority group, coming out, gay marriage (and what marriage is), custody issues when one ‘parent’ has no legal rights, discrimination, etc.

    And while there is no reason that the show COULDN’T have had more (it had a few) heterosexual or gay male characters (it had a few), I think that the experiences of one minority group- lesbians, in this case- can be specific and deeply felt enough that there’s legitimacy in using the platform to tell the story of that individual subgroup.

    Also, even if the characters hadn’t occasionally grappled with the more serious issues being faced by today’s lesbian community, I still feel the show would have had relevance for other members of that community because it features members of that typically underrepresented community. It depicted lesbians forming relationships, dissolving relationships, struggling to succeed, succeeding, failing, loving, working, fighting, living, etc. I’m not saying that OMG every person who identifies as a member of this subgroup should watch this show that attempts to give (television) voice to the diverse lesbian experience, but I do see the merit in having the show, and I can see the rational behind informing fellow members of the subgroup being represented that the issues of that subgroup are being explored on television in a highly entertaining show (or, at least it was highly entertaining for me :D).

    I dunno. I didn’t like the fish comment. >.> Not that I have to like everything said on the podcast, and you guys are awesome for putting it out there, but I wanted to offer my response. Nothing wrong with critical feedback, yeah?

    Comment by Kelly | June 26, 2010

  6. Listening to this episode when you were talking about immaturity and sex positive etc made me think of this question: Can a asexual person be sex positive and still be grossed out by sex?

    I ask because I think that’s me. I mean when you think about sex in detail why do people want it? Why would you want a part of someone else inside you? and like oral sex for example? Why do you want to lick or suck the same places were poo and pee come out.?.. no matter how much you wash or wax that place the same is true. When I really think about it and imagine friends having sex I’m super grossed out and don’t think they should be having sex- just like Dexter said sex the most degrading form of human interaction. And when I think about how I was born and were I come from I don’t think “oh how beautiful”….. it’s a sick way to come into the world. But at the same time when I see sex in movies or whateva I don’t feel repulsed or anything. I wouldn’t want to have sex EVER. It grosses me out when I imagine it happening to me but I’m still on the side of as long as I’m not involved that’s fine. I hope that made sense LOL.

    Comment by TheJester | October 20, 2010


Leave a Reply

