A Life

A weekly podcast about asexuality

A Life #9: Off Topic

Download (MP3)

This time the brave crew of A Life takes a different approach to the show by not having any formal topic whatsoever. We get the train moving and see where it ends up. That takes us to a lot of different topics including, but not limited to, children and old ladies. And no, we don’t forget the zombies either.

Forum Posts of the Week:
Bothersome and persistent old ladies
Collecting song lyrics

Blog quote from:
Asexual Explorations Blog: Lexicon Fail

Poll:
Do you think your sexuality affects your opinion on children?

October 18, 2009 - Posted by | Podcast

3 Comments »

  1. Hello, I’ve been enjoying all your podcast episodes, and in this new one I heard you’re looking for a cover art logo. So, I made this for you: http://img2.imageshack.us/img2/9112/alifepodcastcoverart.jpg

    Comment by Acenonymous | October 19, 2009

  2. Extremely great. Thank you very much indeed.

    Comment by alifepodcast | October 19, 2009

  3. I think this is the podcast where you discuss wanting children…heres by 2 cents:

    I’ve never understood when women are called selfish for not having children. The only reason I can see for people saying that is some people see the meaning of life as procreating and as women using the womb they were given to give the most important gift (in their view)which is the gift of life to another human being. I can see many reasons that remaining childfree is less selfish then having children but I won’t go into a big discussion about that. Personally I have a hard time understanding why it is so important for people to have their own biological children with some going as far as IVF or surrogacy to insure their child has the same DNA as the mother. How is that not selfish that they would only raise a child when its their own? How many children are waiting to be adopted just looking for someone to love them when their DNA wasn’t good enough for their biological parents? If two people want to raise a child and help society and are really looking forward to being parents and want a child so much why can’t they love a child that no-one else wants instead of bringing more children into an already overpopulated world? I myself don’t want children but this is the thing that has never made scene to me the importance of carrying on your genes- whether they are good ones or not? How many parents are the really selfish ones who know they have bad genes and if they have a child that it will get some disability or illness and yet still have that child? Wouldn’t the greater gift be to raise a child and try to stop it developing social or mental problems if it ends up being in bad foster care ? I wish someone sexual or asexual could explain this to me….Maybe my lack of maternal instinct is making this hard for me to understand, I don’t know. I thought it was only sexuals who would care but it seem asexuals would go as far as actually having sex (as painful as that would be for them) just so they could have their ‘own’ children.

    Comment by TheJester | October 1, 2010


Leave a Reply

