A Life

A weekly podcast about asexuality

A Life #4: Asexuality & LGBT

Download (MP3)

The question of Asexuality as a logical part of the wider LGBT community has been debated as long as there has been an Asexual community. We tackle some of the more common points for and against, and tell about our own experiences with the LGBT community.

Forum Post of the Week:
Asexuality VS LGBT

Blog quote from:
To Find My Wings: Feeling Good

Poll:
Asexuality and the LGBT Community

September 12, 2009 - Posted by | Podcast

4 Comments »

  1. Oooh, thanks for quoting me! I can’t listen to the podcast now but I will later on and give a proper comment.

    Comment by tofindmywings | September 14, 2009

  2. No problem! That blog post said a lot of things on my mind. Hope you enjoy the podcast.
    ~Rebecca

    Comment by The A Life Team | September 15, 2009

  3. In the podcast, you were talking about where to draw the line between asexuality and HSDD. You said that they should draw the line at where it bothers you. But I think that’s in fact where the DSM draws the line. It’s only considered a disorder if the subject experiences marked distress.

    There are problems with this distinction, though. Later in the podcast, you referred to difficulties that you had at first fitting in as an asexual and coming to terms with asexuality. Did that make it a disorder? I don’t like the idea of having to force a smile all the time to avoid having a disorder.

    I believe homosexuality was in a similar position in the DSM from 1973 to 1987 (see ego-dystonic homosexuality).

    Comment by Siggy | September 15, 2009

  4. Hey, I’ve got around to listening to the podcast. Thanks again for the mention, it’s true that what I mentioned in my blog is probably more of an issue to girls, but I’m glad you understood and felt the same way Rebecca. My exam results went great by the way, thanks!

    I enjoyed the rest of the podcast too, I’m about to go to uni and have been wondering whether or not to join their LGBT society and it gave me a few more things to think about.

    Comment by Sabriel | September 21, 2009


Leave a Reply

